A Decade of Excellence


November 27, 2000 - January 26, 2001 

A collaborative project between [Artspace] at Untitled and the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition (OVAC), A Decade of Excellence featured the work of 17 artists who were recipients of OVAC's Award of Excellence.

Recognizing the past achievement and future promise, the artists represented in this exhibition are winners from the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition’s Awards of Excellence Program from the past ten years.  An out-of-state juror selects the awardees based on the quality of their artwork and artistic vision as well as their professional activities.  Past jurors have been curators and gallery owners from across the country.  Currently three outstanding artists are awarded the cash prize.

Believing that communities with strong, vibrant arts are those that support their individual artists, the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition was organized in 1988.  OVAC supports visual artists living and working in Oklahoma and promotes interest and understanding of the Arts.  OVAC promotes the visual arts through publications, educational programs and annual exhibitions.  OVAC encourages professional excellence through grants, workshops, and a professional slide registry. We at the [Untitled Gallery] are proud to be involved with this project and are committed to the cultural growth of this community.

Paul Medina, Burt Harbison, John Hood, Stephanie Grubbs, Dortha Killian, Mark Lewis, Rebecca Friedman Wheeler, Sunni Mercer, David Gill, Jennifer Cocoma, Gloria Abella de Duncan, D. J. Lafon, Maxine Richards, Corazon Watkins, Clint Shore, Laurie Spencer, Don Longcrier